That, that don’t Kill me can only make me stronger…

Man oh man do I love me some Kanye… Although I grew up listening to older brother’s new wave, and Death Rock music which has forever influenced me. I have always adored pop music. I frequently have to switch KROQ and Indie 103.1 for something I can shake my ass to. Since belting out “like a virgin” at 8 years old to my moms dismay, Cyndi Lauper’s masturbation song, “She Bop”, Prince, and don’t get me started on my Micheal Jackson frenzy circa 1983, I’ve loved dance music.

Kanye and 50 cent are on the cover of Rolling Stone in some sort of new pop king face off. To me there is simply no comparison. Kanye is straight so much cooler than Fiddy. I first noticed this at Coachella 2006. Now, nobody could resist “Gold Digger.” But who would expect this guy loop some of his tracks to Ah Ha’s Take me on.” Well my friends and spouse saw me loose my mind during that show. Screaming and frenzied out, trying to climb on shoulders to get a closer look.

Now I must admit all that I have heard from the new album, Graduation, is the 4 tracks he’s got on his myspace page. But the song, Stronger, does it for me. It’s got some catchy hooks that are reminiscent of my 80’s childhood “Since Prince and Appolonia…” (Horchata and I watched Purple Rain last night). Not to mention this album cover done by Japanese artist Takashi Murakami. It is so sick!

I highly suggest if you feel like stepping out of your alternative side when no one is looking. Give this a listen.

Published by marcibones

Artist Bio: Marci Bones is a free lance blogger and painter who specializes in the genre of Dia De Los Muertos.

4 thoughts on “That, that don’t Kill me can only make me stronger…

  1. Holy crap! I haven’t heard the term “Death Rock” used since 1987! Way to go girl! You took me back. She Bop is about masturbation?!?!?!? Shut the hell up!

  2. Hey Marci,
    fyi – The Geffen Contemporary at MOCA, Los Angeles will be having a showing of Takashi Murakami’s work from October 29th – February 11th, 2008. Check it out 213-626-6222 or htp://www.moca-la.org

Leave a comment